If you, as a nursing student, MUST learn EKGs…..

want to learn what’s really important in nursing? it’s not what you think… I don’t often get to the point of revealing my deepest secrets to the world, it takes a lot  to actually put these things in print.  For example, even though I know the name, hand gesture and usage of the  One Universal Surgical Implement, when I was initiated into the cult I was sworn to secrecy that I will only reveal it to those cognoscenti that show themselves capable of handling such knowledge…..

Responsibility always comes with knowledge.

Remember that. Before i would ever reveal anything, you must prove yourself worthy. And of course, the first step is to buy and read my book about Nepal. It’s the kind of book you can give to the nurse in your life for Nurses Day or for graduation from nursing school.

Anyway, there were too many protests to last last blog

They call this “push-back” – readers who said they just needed to be ekg-certified….. O to be young again!

The Six Rhythms

There actually only six you need to know. trust me. This Pearl of Wisdom has been enshrined in the American Heart Association Manual for twenty years, but somehow people gloss over it and say, it can’t possibly be so simple….

Link to a website

In Nepal I met Jason Waechter, an MD from Canada who was working with Patan Hospital.

He was wicked cool.

has all kinds of great stuff about critical care on his website.

I particularly recommend the handout on basic ekg.

also – I have a two-page handout on rhythm strip analysis which I will share.

To get the two-page handout,

subscribe to the blog,

share with all your friends, and

send me an email. joeniemczura@gmail.com

ten-four, over and out in Honolulu today…..

3 Comments

Filed under nursing education

3 responses to “If you, as a nursing student, MUST learn EKGs…..

  1. Future Nurse

    Hmmm 6 rhythms… let me guess – Normal sinus, asystole, V-tach, V-fib and A-fib, A-flutter??? I really want to fit 3rd degree block in there somewhere…. and something about PVCs, but they don’t fit

This blog is actively moderated. Offensive, insulting or boorish comments will not be approved. On the other hand, show me a sense of humor and I will follow you anywhere....

