a Nurse looks at the shutdown Oct 8 2013

I have been at this a long time, and there are cycles in government funding of healthcare that come and go.

Let’s call it what it is. Racism

I have always thought that the Tea Party was full of racists, and I have not learned anything to suspect otherwise.
My formative years were spent in Boston in the 1970s, and I recall that the growth of private “Christian” schools nationwide was fueled by a reaction to court decisions that imposed forced busing as a means to desegregate schools. We’ve seen the “Christian” movement grow, to the point where the younger adherents who actually grew up with a deep background in the Bible are unaware of how it got started.

this is not a “Christian” blog, though I can’t separate my beliefs as to how we are all here to make things better, from my approach to nursing. If you, the reader, have not been to the site of “The Christian Left” I advise you to go there.

“What does it take to get it through people’s heads that we are being attacked from within? The attack started years ago inside the heart of America, the Christian churches. Yes, they took over the churches by twisting scripture and by fear mongering. Who would believe that Christians would be the ones who perpetrate an attack from within? They use their great wealth to create organizations that pose as grassroots gatherings of good people. These good Christian people are being used by evil men and they haven’t a clue. It isn’t just for more wealth, it’s an attack for complete power and those wealthy men eat their own believe me. They have twisted the minds of people into believing that helping the poor and elderly is going to cause them to loose their chance of salvation. They impoverish people to try to save themselves. That is why many good people are supporting this even though it hurts the weakest among us. This is an attack on America pure as if Russia had driven tanks across our borders.” —

Patricia Cooper, member of The Christian Left

The “Christian” movement has merged with the racist groups that have crawled out of a swamp.

I simply have too many friends that are members of “minority groups” to stand silent. I have to speak up.

“All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.” (Edmund Burke)

we need to reject the idea that God somehow wants us to act the way the Tea Party has been acting.

It is clear to me that the Tea Party also is conducting a War on Women. there are just too many misogynistic things going on to wink and smile.

Don’t bargain with terrorists

The Tea Party groups that are behind this shutdown are doing and end-around against the kind of democracy we have relied on since the beginning of this country.

Don’t think for one minute that the hostage-taking will end once the racists get their current demand. They will absolutely revisit every settled part of social security, medicare, women’s health – everything. everything you thought was a settled policy will now be back on the table.

And somehow nurses will get the short end of the stick.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “a Nurse looks at the shutdown Oct 8 2013

  1. I know you don’t talk politics much on this blog, for obvious reasons, but I want to say “BRAVO” on this one for sticking your neck out and calling a spade a spade.

    • yes. I know I am supposed to be more substantive and not simple call people names. But in this case, the name fits. I have been programmed since childhood to stand up to bullies. As I wrote, I have many many friends who are members of this-or-that “minority group” – my plan is that when I see them I will be able to look them in the eye. Edmund Burke was widely quoted at the March on Washington waaaay back in 1963.

  2. Sharon tyson

    I totally agree with you. Thank you for saying the truth.

This blog is actively moderated. Offensive, insulting or boorish comments will not be approved. On the other hand, show me a sense of humor and I will follow you anywhere....

